Thursday, May 26, 2016

Saturday, May 21, 2016

UAAP Season 78 Closing Ceremonies set

The final activity for Season 78 is slated to take place this afternoon, as the UAAP holds it closing ceremonies at the Bahay ng Alumni of the University of the Philippines.

The occasion allows the league to honor exemplary student-athletes, from those who excelled in both in action and in the classroom, as well as give out citations for those who partook of international competitions during the season. They will also announce the Athlete of the Year, which will be coming from the Most Valuable Players from the fifteen sporting disciplines.

Three ladies took home the award last season in La Salle Lady Paddler Ian Lariba, Far Eastern University Lady Woodpusher Janelle Mae Frayna, and Ateneo Lady Eagle (nee Lady Tanker) Hannah Dato.

For this season, Lariba is being tipped by many to be the awardee after the Cagayan de Oro-native led the Lady Paddlers to a successful title defense, while remaining undefeated in her five-year UAAP stint. She also made history as the first Filipino table tennis player to secure an Olympic berth at the Qualifying Tournament in Hong Kong just over a month ago.

The UAAP will also have its handover ceremony, as outgoing Season 78 president Dr. Michael Tan of UP will hand the league's flag to incoming Season 79 president Fr. Ermito de Sagun of UST. de Sagun is also expected to give an acceptance speech afterwards.

FIBA OQT updates

SAMAHANG Basketbol ng Pilipinas executive director Sonny Barrios, 2nd left, pays a courtesy call to President-elect Rody Duterte, center, in Davao City yesterday to personally hand the formal invitation of SBP president Manny V. Pangilinan to the incoming Chief Executive for the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament in Manila in July. Also present, from left, are SBP board member and regional director Boy Cua, SBP legal consultant Edgar Francisco and Mayor Duterte’s executive assistant Christopher ‘Bong’ Go, right.

What do we know as of late:

1. Tickets for the individual days have been made available to the public. Since it is held at the MOA Arena, SM Tickets is handling distribution.

2. Rosters are slowly taking shape. The Gilas bracket of the FIBA OQT tournament already providing some clarity with the final rosters, as both France and New Zealand whittled down their lineups to 17 and 14, respectively. 

3. Gilas also made a couple of cut-downs, as Greg Slaughter and Matt Ganuelas-Rosser both had to bow out due to injuries.

4. Due to personal matters, Andray Blatche's presence won't be made until next week at the earliest.

Thursday, May 19, 2016

San Beda set to make Filoil preseason debut

Today's action at the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan is highlighted by the season debut of the San Beda Red Lions.

Last season's NCAA losing finalists are set to face the University of the East in the third game of a quintiple-header scheduled from morning and end at night.

Jamike Jarin will have to deal with the departures of Ola Adeogun, Art dela Cruz, and Baser Amer, as he and the rest of his coaching staff will try to pick up the pieces with a younger and smaller lineup.

In addressing the roster attrition, the Red Lions will look at holdovers Ranbill Tongco, Javee Mocon, Donald Tankoua, AC Soberano, and newly-minted team captain Dan Sara to lead the team. New faces Robert Bolick, Davon Potts, Arnaud Noah, and Calvin Ofpana add athleticism and depth to the side, which is set to continue with Jarin's pressing style.

Red Lions team manager Jude Roque noted that the coaching staff plans to utilize anywhere from 12-13 players per match given their style of play. “It will be a spread out offense with the team on the floor based on match-ups and need. You won’t find a designated scorer because in what we want, anyone can shoot as the play dictates it."

Serving as their first opposition is a deadly UE side that defeated Lyceum in its latest outing, 91-75, last May 11.

Trailing by 5 at the break, the Red Warriors unleashed a second-half barrage on the Pirates anchored on their press defense. Forcing 19 turnovers for 27 points, Derrick Pumaren's crack unit rattled Topex Robinson's backcourt combination of Jesper Ayaay, Dexter Zamora, Shaq Alanes, and Edcor Marata into 14 of those turnovers. Alvin Pasaol led UE with 17 points.

Following this all-Red matchup is La Salle attempting to remain unbeaten in their face-off against Mapua Cardinals. The retooled Green Archers are seeking their third straight win in the tournament, as they try to keep up with fellow undefeated side Perpetual. The other collegiate matchup sees Adamson and Letran try to secure their second win in this tournament at 130pm.

In high school action, La Salle-Zobel makes their tournament debut in the opening match of the day against Lyceum at 1115am.

UAAP Season 78's losing finalists will have to deal with the departure of key guys Aljun Melecio, Marco Sario, and Brent Paraiso, as they go up against the Junior Pirates of head coach LA Mumar.

Capping the quintple-header is the matchup of EAC-ICA against La Salle-Greenhills at 645pm.